Goodbye, Real.

For the beginning of spring I figured I’d go buy a couple good jazz lps. So I head down to Real Records, the land of a million jazz albums, and – it’s closed. Closed permanently. This is immensely saddening. When I was a record-buying kid, there were four good record stores in downtown Iowa City. Now there’s just a diminished Record Collector, and even that I hear is moving away from downtown. I bought my first albums at Real – and my very first cd. It was staring agog at all the Coltrane cds, albums I never dreamed of finding on lp, that got me to ask for a cd player for my birthday. I bought “European Impressions,” some live recording with Eric Dolphy, before I even had the cd player – just kept it on my shelf dreaming of what it sounded like. (That makes me think of an anecdote about a Chinese poet: “Tao Yuanming knew nothing of music, but he had at home a simple unadorned zither without any strings. Whenever he experienced, in drinking wine, a feeling of plenitude, he touched the zither in order to express the aspiration of his heart.”)

It occurred to me as I walked away from the shut-down Real that it’s pretty much all over for the local record store. I imagine that people are probably buying more lps now than they were a few years ago, but it’s a specialty thing. Record shopping will continue online. Real, in fact, is going to have an online store. There will still be a few cool shops in New York, etc.

God, I hate buying records online. Songs, fine. But records? To download a record is pointless, because you never listen to a whole album, or if you do it’s just for the first two weeks. Then it melts into the iTunes library.

Goodbye, Real.

This entry was posted in Jazz. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Goodbye, Real.

  1. Mary says:

    Yesterday was my birthday (March 13)

Leave a Reply

