Songs that Inspired Us: Crocodile Rock

Dad and I thought of a post that is “songs that inspire us.” The first song I’m doing is “Crocodile Rock” by Elton John, the version he does on The Muppet Show.

This was the first song by Elton John that I knew. It was also the first Muppet Show I watched. Elton John is like a Muppet in this performance! I love how The Muppet Show is funny, creative, musical, and just fun to watch. And all the same things are true of Elton John!

The song “Crocodile Rock” is odd in an interesting way: there are all those “la-la-la-la-la-la”s. It has good rhythm. It is happy. It reminds me of Dad and me skipping stones in Wisconsin, because of the lyric “Me and Suzie had so much fun holdin’ hands and skippin’ stones.” Elton John is wearing a rainbow feather-suit that’s plump, a sparkly bathing cap, and pink sunglasses. He looks FUNNY and COOL!

Now I like lots of Elton John songs, such as “Tiny Dancer,” “Goodbye Yellowbrick Road,” “Rocket Man,” “Bennie and the Jets,” Saturday Night’s Alright for Fighting,” “Mona Lisas and Mad Hatters,” and “Someone Saved My Life Tonight.” Did I mention “Tiny Dancer”?

This entry was posted in Rock n Roll. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

