A Love Supreme – Live

I’ve been meaning to post this video and write about it for some time now. Coltrane’s A Love Supreme is one of the musical pieces I know best: I’ve been listening to it on a regular basis for as long as any piece of music. I’m still trying to figure out what’s appropriate to say about it. (I’ve also known for a long time a live version of it, relatively similar to this one, but even wilder.)

I will say that I’m given to music that goes to the edge of the divine. I emphasize “edge.” The medieval mystic Abu Hamid al-Ghazali says that one truly acquainted with the experience of God will say of it:

There was what was of what I do not mention;
So think well of it, and ask for now account.

Let me just say this. I think that a big part of what makes A Love Supreme work is Coltrane’s band, a set of true disciples (forgive me, Lord, but much truer than the disciples of Jesus!, who mostly wander around uncomprehendingly or half-comprehendingly!); they question, support, urge on, call back, and deepen everything Trane does. It’s galling that McCoy Tyner’s solo is cut off here. What is there is astounding.

This entry was posted in Jazz and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

